Sometimes we understand that you just have to cancel. You can cancel your request for free up to 5 minutes after you have been matched with a driver. If you cancel more than 5 minutes after you are matched to a driver, you'll be charged a cancellation fee. The fee is intended to give you some flexibility if you have a change of plans and also to compensate the driver if they have been driving towards you for a bit longer when you cancel.
On incredibly busy days such as New Year's Eve and Halloween, the fee is subject to change. If the cancellation fee is ever to change to more than $5, we will show this explicitly within the app before you make a request.
Summon's goal is to build trust between our drivers and riders, so that they can rely on one another. We expect each driver to pickup riders immediately after they accept a ride, and bring them safely from A to B. This is a work in progress, so please let us know by shooting us an email if you ever don't agree with a fee that you were charged.